Texas Community Colleges
Phi Theta Kappa
Psi Zeta Chapter

Phi Theta Kappa Officers for 2022-2023

Psi Zeta Chapter 2022-2023 Officers
Tyrique Belle, President
Joao Da Rocha Mesquita, Vice President
Emily Foss, Secretary
Matteo Todorovic, Treasurer
Damion Delgado, Chapter Advisor
Gineth Martinez, Member


The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Phi Theta Kappa's mission is two-fold:

  1. Recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and;
  2. Provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming.

About Phi Theta Kappa, Psi Zeta Chapter

Western Texas College chartered the Psi Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on February 11, 1972. In order to become a member, students must have completed 12 hours and have a cumulative 3.5 GPA. Students are typically notified by email or U.S. mail. After paying the membership fee, the Psi Zeta Chapter inducts new members in a meaningful ceremony that takes place in the spring. 

A Brief History of PTK

At a meeting of the presidents of the Missouri junior colleges for women in 1918, it was decided to organize a new honorary society, chapters of which would have a common character, stand, and similarity of organization. The name Phi Theta Kappa was chosen, and the Society was incorporated in Missouri as a national organization. Founders modeled many aspects of the new Society after the prestigious senior college honorary society, Phi Beta Kappa.  Eight colleges chartered the first chapters; now, of those eight, only Cottey College still maintains an active chapter.  In 1924, the Constitution was amended to provide for chartering of chapters in coeducational and all-male colleges.  On November 19, 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.  November 19 is now celebrated as Phi Theta Kappa Founders Day.

The Psi Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was chartered at Western Texas College on February 11, 1972.

Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest international honor society in American higher education with more than 3 million members and almost 1300 chapters in all 50 states and nine nations. 


For more information, contact:
Laura Caswell
Director of Counseling & Phi Theta Kappa Co-Advisor
LRC/Library, Bldg. 2, Room 105