Texas Community Colleges

WTC Teams Compete at Nationals



May 15-17 - Mesa, AZ

• Janet Amponsah – 1st Place - 100m dash
• Janet Amponsah – 1st Place - 200m dash
• Terriann Williams – 1st Place - 400 hurdles
• Men's 4x400 relay– 1st Place (Daniel Gyasi, Jimmy Brooks, Aaron Lecesne, Rashard Clark)
Other results:
• Terriann Williams - 4th Place - 100m hurdles
• Women's 4x400 relay - 2nd Place (Chartia Hurt, Marissa Gale, Terriann Williams, Janet Amponsah)
• Blake Bartlett - 6th Place - 100m dash
• Blake Bartlett – 8th Place - 200m dash
• Rashard Clark - 3rd Place - 400m
• Daniel Gasai - 7th Place - 400m
• Oraine Wint - 7th Place - 1500m
• Sydney Scruggs - 8th Place - 110m hurdles
• Men's 4x100 relay - 6th Place (Sydney Scruggs, Blake Bartlett, Daniel Gyasi, Rashard Clark)

• Women's team placed 6th overall
• Men's Team tied for 9th overall











May 12-15 - Daytona Beach, FL. - Lady Westerners finished the NJCAA National Championship in 6th place after 3 rounds of play, after the final round got cancelled due to rain. Devanshi Naik earned All-American status with a t-15th individual finish.

6 Western Texas College 349 332 333 1014
T 15 Devanshi Naik 82 76 81 239
T 27 Iben Hvass 89 79 80 248
33 RaeChelle Leiken 84 85 82 251
T 55 Aspen Lam 94 92 90 276
95 Alexandra Luna 117 106 115 338




BURLINGTON, Iowa – PING All-America and All-District teams for NJCAA Division I were announced today by the GCAA. Frederik Andersen of Western Texas College, North Idaho College's Angus Montgomery, George Trujillo of Indian Hills CC, Central Alabama CC's Tim Walker and Midland College's David Wicks made up the First Team.

Second Team selections are Eastern Arizona College's Ryan Gaske, Zac Oliver of Paris JC, Aksel Olsen of Wallace State CC, Indian Hills CC's Colin Pearson and Hunter Shattuck of McLennan CC.

Kyle Gertner and Beau Hanson of Odessa College, Hutchinson CC's Jordan Hecker, Dodge City CC's Zack Kirby and Charlie Rienhart of Johnson County CC were named to the Honorable Mention team.

The individual medalist at this week's National Championship will also be named to the First Team if not already a part of the team.

NJCAA Division I Ping All-American Teams

First Team
Frederik Andersen – Western Texas College
Angus Montgomery – North Idaho College
George Trujillo – Indian Hills Community College
Tim Walker – Central Alabama Community College
David Wicks – Midland College