Texas Community Colleges

WTC’s Beebe to Receive Gordon Award and Induction into Texas Hall of Honor


SNYDER—– Phi Theta Kappa will recognize Western Texas College’s Dr. Barb Beebe and 34 other college presidents with Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction during PTK Catalyst 2018, the Society’s annual national convention, in Kansas City, Missouri, April 19-21, 2018.

In addition, the Texas Region of Phi Theta Kappa will induct Beebe into the Phi Theta Kappa Texas Hall of Honor for College Administrators during the 2018 Phi Theta Kappa Texas Region Awards Banquet and Gala on Saturday, March 10, 2018, in Houston.

“What a privilege it is to be inducted into the Texas Hall of Honor for College Administrators for the Texas Region of Phi Theta Kappa! I wholeheartedly support all student scholars who participate in Phi Theta Kappa, and especially those in our Psi Zeta Chapter,” said Beebe.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest international honors society of community colleges and academic programs in American higher education. Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is two-fold: recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and; provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

Students from Psi Zeta, the WTC chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, nominated Beebe for the Gordon Award and as an inductee for the Phi Theta Kappa Texas Hall of Honor for College Administrators.

“She’s a really good president,” said Stephanie Stephens, WTC’s Psi Zeta chapter president. “We’re glad she won. It means a lot that she cares for the students, the faculty, and the College. She has a big heart.”

As a student at Berkshire Community College in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, Beebe received an invitation to join the honors society when she was a sophomore. She earned her Associate of Arts degree at Berkshire and her Bachelor of Science degree from Southern Vermont College.

Beebe received her M.B.A. from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst in Management and Business Administration and earned a Ph.D. in Education with a Postsecondary and Adult Education specialization from Capella University in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Western Texas College Board of Trustees chose Beebe as College President in 2012. The Board recently extended her contract through the 2019-2020 school year.

The Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction honors college presidents who have demonstrated outstanding effort toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, longtime chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Board of Directors and president emeritus of Highline College n Washington.

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society guarantees students access to benefits that will recognize their outstanding academic accomplishments and provide them with the competitive edge that helps ensure future success. Members must maintain a 3.0 GPA or higher to remain in good standing.